Hi & a question about CPM

More
4 years 8 months ago - 4 years 8 months ago #4597 by docsquee
Hi all, greetings from wet and windy Cumbria, UK.

I'm a novice whose lovely partner bought me this kit , it's using a SMB20 tube.

I've hooked up the kit to a RasPi model 2b via a serial connection and I'm using PyRadmon to upload the CPM data.

I've placed both pieces of hardware in a clear plastic (lock n lock) food container and placed the tube on the outide of the box. See here.

The box is sat on my bedroom windowsill and is powered via the mains.

Question:

The kit has not been up and running long but for around 48 hours the counter settled on an average somewhere around 33 CPM. Last night I was awoken by HEAVY rain (approx 4am BST), I was looking out of the window (easily excited) and noticed the counter flashing, it was reading over 70 CPM ( see here ). I restarted the kit and Pi, tried again and got the same reading. I moved the kit to a different room (same floor) and got a similar (high 50s) count. The kit is back in its original location. The average now is sitting around 50 CPM.

Note that I sleep in the same room as the counter. My instinct tells me this is a hardware 'issue'. Does anyone have any ideas what has caused this upward trend?

Many thanks
Doc
Last edit: 4 years 8 months ago by docsquee. Reason: SPaG

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 years 8 months ago - 4 years 8 months ago #4598 by mw0uzo
Replied by mw0uzo on topic Hi & a question about CPM
Leave your counter running while we discuss what it can be. There is small but non-zero chance that you may have caught a real event, due to recent events in Russia and at an unknown event at Heysham near to you in the UK. Heavy rain washes out gases in the atmosphere above and concentrates them at ground level. Sometimes after heavy rain, there is radon washout, which is detectable with SBM-20 when significant.