solar radiation.

More
7 years 1 month ago - 7 years 1 month ago #3033 by stdorn01
solar radiation. was created by stdorn01
I'm new to the whole radiation monitoring scene and was wondering if someone might be able to answer a question if they know more about this than me. I am currently running a beta 1 - 1 model pancake tube I get normal background readings of 15 to 20cpm but I've noticed during the day it goes up anywhere from 30 to slightly over a hundred. I've checked and my tube does not appear to be light-sensitive. today I noticed it was exactly 6:22 a.m. when my reading started to spike and I went looked up sunrise time and it in the sunrise was 6:22 a.m. . Could I actually be picking up solar radiation I see we are having a solar storm right now in the higher latitudes.

Thanks,
Steve
Last edit: 7 years 1 month ago by stdorn01.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 1 month ago #3038 by mw0uzo
Replied by mw0uzo on topic solar radiation.
Welcome Steve to radmon.org! :cheer:

I had a pancake tube, an old Russian one. That too showed similar effects. Unfortunately, the tube was faulty, after a few days of logging, the count rate went up to an unrealistic value.

I wonder if anyone else has noticed being able to pick up additional counts during the day?

Would you like to register to send data to radmon.org? If so, PM me with your details and I'll set it up.
The following user(s) said Thank You: stdorn01

More
7 years 1 month ago - 7 years 1 month ago #3041 by stdorn01
Replied by stdorn01 on topic solar radiation.